News about Photo & Video

Reviews: Sony NEX-5N

by PhotoVideoOnline on 11/17/2011

Sony Alpha NEX-5N in black

© Sony

The creative possibilities of a DSLR with less to carry

  • 16.1 effective megapixels
  • Ultra-fast AF with Object Tracking High speed shooting up to 10 fps 7.5cm (3”) LCD touch-screen
  • AVCHD Full HD video up to 50p
  • PASM exposure modes
  • Creative Picture Effect modes
  • Magnesium body, just 269g* and 38.2mm slim

* With battery and Memory Stick PRO Duo included

Sony NEX-5N vs Sony Alpha 77 - High ISO Comparison
Being very curious about how the Nex-7 will rate against the Nex-5n in some High ISO testing, I figured a Head to Head with the Sony a77 vs the nex-5n is as close as I can get. Assuming of course the a77 sensor is for the most part identical to the a77 sensor minus the mirror. The pixel density is what my concern is, as the a77′s performance from the other day vs the Canon 5dmark II was nothing short of poor. I didn’t remember the Nex-5n being anywhere near as noisy as the a77 so I had to see for my self the raw data. What is most surprising to me about the a77′s poor performance, was the color shift in the blacks specifically to a purple tinge. See for your self.
November 17, 2011
Sony NEX-5N – First Impressions
Since their introduction in spring of 2010, the Sony Alpha NEX mirrorless cameras have become very popular with both serious photographers who want a high-performance compact camera, and casual photographers who like the smaller size and ease-of-use. I hadn’t seen the latest NEX cameras in person so I made it a point to take a closer look at the NEX line at the PhotoPlus Expo a couple of weeks ago. Right now the Sony NEX-5N is the sweet spot in the NEX lineup, offering the most performance for the money. They’ve bumped the resolution to 16-megapixels, improved the auto focus and speed, enhanced the video performance, and added a 3-inch touchscreen LCD display. Since this was my first opportunity to actually play with the 5N, I want to focus this article on the camera’s feel and performance.
November 10, 2011
Sony NEX-5N APS-C Mirrorless Review
The Sony NEX-5N is an update to the NEX-5 - it gives the camera a new touch screen giving easier control of options, as well as an updated 16.1 megapixel sensor, and the ability to add an electronic viewfinder. The electronic viewfinder is rather unique in that is features an OLED screen with 2.359million dots!
November 7, 2011
Sony NEX-5N review
Comes with touchscreen and two million more pixels
The second generation Sony NEX-5N sits in the middle of a revamped NEX compact system camera (CSC) range, just above the NEX-C3, with which it shares a 16.1MP effective resolution, and some way below the 24.3MP effective NEX-7. It follows on from the entry level NEX-3 and mid range NEX-5, introduced in summer 2010 as Sony's first-ever interchangeable lens compacts.

November 3, 2011
Sony NEX-5N review
Does Sony’s latest CSC turn out image gold?
The NEX-5N arrives at a time when compact system camera manufacturers are all throwing many individual systems in the ring. We’ve seen "world’s smallest", "world’s lightest" and "world’s fastest" claims appear again and again in a bid to attract the most attention. The 5N, on the other hand, rests on its laurels - indeed it’s a carbon copy of the NEX-5 that came out some 12 months previous - by sidelining the claim game.
Sony is instead playing the image quality game. By popping a brand new 16.1-megapixel APS-C-sized CMOS sensor into the 5N it should, on account of its use in other high-ranking DSLRs such as the Sony A580, make for gold-standard images. We take a look at what else is hot (or not) with the NEX-5N.

November 2, 2011
Sony Alpha NEX-5N First Impressions Review
The Sony NEX-5N is the midrange model of Sony’s 2011 NEX lineup, with an overall design similar to 2010’s NEX-5 but with a number of smart additions that streamline operation. The most notable addition is the touchscreen interface, which adds an extra layer of fine control to NEX series.
The changes may not be cosmetic, but they work to better differentiate the NEX-5N from the NEX-C3 and the recently announced NEX-7 cameras. The end result is a camera that—with the addition of a phase detection autofocus lens adapter and an OLED viewfinder—feels more like a fleshed out compact system camera than a proof of concept experiment. The 5N comes kitted with an 18-55mm lens. Read on to find our first impressions of shooting with the camera.

October 31, 2011
Sony NEX-5N Review
The Sony NEX-5N is a new compact system camera, the fourth model in the NEX series. Featuring a 16.1 megapixel Exmor APS HD CMOS sensor, 25-point contrast-detect autofocus system, 49-segment exposure meter and 3-inch tilting LCD panel with 921,000-dot resolution, the NEX-5N also offers a brand new touch-screen interface, an expanded ISO range of 100-25600 and both a mechanical and electronic shutter. The magnesium bodied NEX-5N can also capture fast-moving action at 10fps at full resolution, shoot Full HD 1920 x1080p video as high-quality AVCHD files, and is supplied with a compact clip-on flash that attaches via an accessory terminal. Lenses can be fitted via the E mount system, but the NEX cameras can also use regular Sony Alpha lenses via the optional new LA-EA2 adapter. In the UK the Sony NEX-5N costs around £600 with the 18-55mm f/3.5-6.3 kit lens or £700 with the 16mm f/2.8 lens. A double-zoom kit, comprising the Sony NEX-5N camera body and the 18-55mm as well as the new 55-210mm lens, costs £800. In the US the NEX-5N ships body-only for $600 or with the 18-55mm f/3.5-6.3 kit lens for $700.
October 31, 2011
Sony Alpha NEX-5N review
We love the feel of this compact/dSLR crossover. The quality of its images is impressive, too, with vibrant colours, sharp detail and balanced exposures. If you can't decide whether to buy a pocket snapper or a semi-pro camera, check out the £660 Sony Alpha NEX-5N. It could well suit you down to the ground.
October 25, 2011
Sony NEX-5n Field Review
In addition to "What a difference an "n" makes", the subtitle of this report should also read "What a difference a year makes". In my First Impressions Review of the Sony NEX-5 I was impressed with the technology of reducing an APS-C sensor camera to Lilliputian dimensions. But I was less than impressed with the NEX-5's user interface. In fact I thought it was dreadful.
October, 2011
Sony NEX-5N Review
The Sony NEX-5N is part of Sony’s second go-round at the mirrorless camera format. The NEX-3 and NEX-5 were largely regarded as a success – and for the most part the NEX-C3 and NEX-5N models which followed on a year later have been held with similar regard.
What you need to know up front is that the Sony NEX-5N is not a perfect camera. It’s a solid (bordering on excellent) offering from Sony; however, it has some niggling problems and concerns that take some of the luster off of it.

October 18, 2011
Sony NEX 5N - what's new? (Filmed with A77)

October 1, 2011
Sony NEX-5N Review
The Sony Alpha NEX-5N is the fourth model in Sony's NEX line of APS-C format mirrorless interchangeable lens cameras. Just as the NEX-C3 replaces the NEX-3, the 5N is a direct replacement for its predecessor the NEX-5, using the company's latest 16.1MP CMOS sensor in place of the previous 14MP chip. Although the 5N is nearly indistinguishable from the NEX-5 on the outside (and is bound to be regarded as such by many casual observers), it is actually a very different camera, and one that is worthy of serious attention.
September, 2011
Sony Alpha NEX-5N
The Sony NEX-5N offers great image quality, a large SLR-sized sensor and a stylish body with the added bonus of a touchscreen.
Those photographers familiar with Sony's take on interchangeable lens cameras (ILCs) will be well acquainted with the NEX-5 that was released last year. Just one year on we have seen a dramatic uptake of ILCs from all the brands, with Sony coming out again with the successor to the NEX-5, dubbed the 5N, as well as a smaller version named the C3 and the big daddy of the clan, the NEX-7.

September 19, 2011
Sony NEX-5n First Impressions ReviewI’ve had the Sony NEX-5n in hand for all of a day now; however, I already have some quick first impressions to share.
First up, its a very fun camera to use. Quick response from shutter and focus. Autofocus is also very good in video mode. The face tracking AF during video recording seems to be very smart and smooth all the way around.

September 18, 2011
Sony Alpha NEX-5N (with 18-55mm lens, Black)
The good: A small-bodied interchangeable-lens model with excellent video, the Sony Alpha NEX-5N also offers some nice features, including a tilting LCD, EVF port, and a hybrid touch-screen/traditional interface.
The bad: The user interface won't be to everyone's taste, and the body feels almost too small for the typical E-mount zoom lenses.
The bottom line: An especially good option for people who want a relatively inexpensive ILC for shooting video, the Sony Alpha NEX-5N's photo quality's about the same as its cheaper sibling's.

September 15, 2011
The Sony NEX-5N Digital Camera Review – A Monster full of features!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrHmtgjo4_c
Being a guy who loves photography AND the gear associated with it is a dangerous thing. A guy in my position gets to try out just about any camera gear I want. While I do not try everything (I AM only ONE guy and this site has a staff of ONE…ME) I do try what catches my eye. I am always aware of the new technology and new cameras. When I see one that gives me goosebumps I add it to my “MUST review list”. I admit, the 5n did not really give me goosebumps when it was announced but I was intrigued by Sony’s claims so I gave it a shot.
Spetember 5, 2011
NEX-5N Initial Impressions and Photos
I received my NEX-5N two days ago from Beach Camera. Here are my initial impressions and some test shots.
My work flow right now is very awkward because the latest Lightroom 3 doesn’t support this camera yet. I have to export to 16bit ARGB TIFF files then import to LR from the Sony RAW converter. I may just use JPG until Adobe Camera Raw has been updated. However looking at the Imaging-Resource JPG shots, it doesn’t make me hopeful. In camera JPG is one area I feel Olympus has been a leader and always will be.

September 5, 2011
Sony NEX 5N review and video footage
After a lot of Dear Sony letters they have finally entered the DSLR video game. Are they going to change it? Read on to find out.
The Sony NEX 5N is the first DSLR* from Sony that offers manual control in video mode and 24p. It precedes the higher end Sony A77 and NEX 7 by about 2 months and is priced at just $599 for the body only. The 18-55mm OSS kit lens is video optimised and has a very effective optical stabiliser. A 50mm F1.8 OSS prime will follow soon (I tried one at IFA, it’s great to finally have a stabiliser on a fast prime!) and the OLED viewfinder add-on.

September 3, 2011
The Sony NEX-5N First Look Thoughts and VideoHere is quick first look at the Sony NEX-5N, the replacement for the very popular NEX-5. So what does the new 5N bring to the table? First of all, more resolution. The NEX-5N ups the ante with 16.1 Megapixels versus the 14 of the 5 . It also adds the new BIONZ processing, a touch screen, and the ability to add an EVF much like the Olympus PEN series. It also has 10 frames per second shooting compared to the 7 of the NEX-5 and has the 1080P video mode with different frame rate options. The new 5N is sold as a body only or with the 18-55 kit lens for $699.
August 31, 2011
Sony Alpha NEX-5N Mirrorless First Look Review
Sony Alpha NEX-5N First Impressions Review - Sony Alpha NEX-5N Sample Photos, Video and Preview, including the new Alpha mount adapter the LA-EA2 and the new EVF.
The Sony NEX-5N is an update to the NEX-5 - it gives the camera a new touch screen giving easier control of options, as well as an updated 16.1 megapixel sensor, and the ability to add an electronic viewfinder. The electronic viewfinder is rather unique in that is features an OLED screen with 2.359million dots!

August 26, 2011
First Look: New Sony Alpha NEX-5N mirrorless camera is surprisingly fast
I managed to get my hands on a production unit of one of Sony's latest mirrorless interchangeable-lens cameras, the Alpha NEX-5N. It's a follow-up to last year's popular NEX-5 camera, and I saw more similarities than differences between the two.
The new camera still has no on-board flash, although an external flash is included. That said, the things that have changed are notable.

August 24, 2011

Support Photo-Video-Online: Buy the Sony NEX-5N from one of our affiliate partners:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: