News about Photo & Video

Reviews: Sony Alpha SLT-A77

by PhotoVideoOnline on 12/01/2011

Sony Alpha SLT-A77

© Sony

Built to meet the creative demands of serious photo enthusiasts

24.3 megapixel Exmor™ APS HD CMOS, Full HD AVCHD, 25/50p, 12fps, 7.5cm 3-way LCD, GPS. With 16-50mm lens.

  • Very high resolution 24.3 effective megapixels
  • Ultra-high speed continuous shooting up to 12fps
  • Responsive, high-performance 19-point AF system

Product Review: Sony SLT-A77 Camera
Into this gaping void leapt one intriguing new model: the 24.3-megapixel Sony SLT-A77. It may not be a true professional camera—despite the gaudy pixel count, it only uses an APS-C size sensor—but the A77 does boast a boatload of features that have made serious photographers give it a second look. The long-awaited replacement to the Sony A700—a prosumer DSLR that gave Canon and Nikon a run for their money back in 2007—the A77 takes the promise of that model and completely blows the doors off it.
December 1, 2011
Sony Alpha 77 HD Video Sample - ShutterSpeed Priorety Mode
I never played with the ShutterSpeed Priority mode before I’m embarrassed to say, but I did today with the Sony Alpha 77 and all I can say is WOW. The potential for this video mode is incredible and I cannot wait to try other things like taillights, spinning anything, blowing trees, etc. I know I probably sound like an excited little kid, but this really is cool and if you have not tried it yet check it out!
November 30, 2011
Why the Sony Alpha77 Was Worth the Wait
1. As the #2 camera manufacturer in the world, Sony must not only compete with Canon to “steal” some of its market share, but also keep Nikon from surpassing it from the third position. It hasn’t been easy for Sony in the higher-end of the DSLR range, but it appears to have a stronger contender in the new Alpha 77.
November, 2011
Sony SLT-A77 Review
In recent months it was obvious that Sony and Panasonic had left the upper end DSLR to others … such as Nikon and Canon.
Until now! And this one is a big mother… the Sony SLT-A77!
Loaded with battery, card and the supplied f2/16-50 SSM lens the camera weighed in at 1.3kg, thanks to the magnesium alloy body. Ports, doors and controls are weather-resistant.

November, 2011
Sony Alpha A77 review 24Mp and a groundbreaking viewfinder, bring it on!
Review units for Sony's long-anticipated replacement for the Alpha A700, the Sony Alpha A77, have finally made it to UK shores, although the worst flood disaster to strike Thailand for 50 years has hampered the camera's official release into the market.
Scanning the new Sony Alpha A77's specifications, it's impossible to be unimpressed with what's on offer. The camera is positively overflowing with up-to-the-minute technology that either matches or supersedes the competition.

November 17, 2011
Sony NEX-5N vs Sony Alpha 77 - High ISO Comparison
Being very curious about how the Nex-7 will rate against the Nex-5n in some High ISO testing, I figured a Head to Head with the Sony a77 vs the nex-5n is as close as I can get. Assuming of course the a77 sensor is for the most part identical to the a77 sensor minus the mirror. The pixel density is what my concern is, as the a77′s performance from the other day vs the Canon 5dmark II was nothing short of poor. I didn’t remember the Nex-5n being anywhere near as noisy as the a77 so I had to see for my self the raw data. What is most surprising to me about the a77′s poor performance, was the color shift in the blacks specifically to a purple tinge. See for your self.
November 17, 2011
Sony A77 Review- The Final Word
As it turns out, all of the A77's I used both prior to announcement by Sony and afterwards were final production cameras. At least they were in terms of image quality (used 1.02 for most of the testing). In total I have used three separate A77's and know this camera quite well as a result. A new firmware upgrade (v1.03) gives a few tweaks to the overall operational performance of the A77 but from what I've seen first hand and gathered, they aren't substantial. Therefore, I offer to you my final review of the A77, as it stands today based on the current firmware version 1.03.
November 2, 2011
Sony A77: A Few Quick ISO Sample Images
I’m just now getting my hands on the Sony A77. While I’ve got lots planned for my final review, I captured a few images with the A77 last night and wanted to pass along a sampling of the ISO range for it.
Check them out.

November 2, 2011
Sony Alpha SLT-A77 review
A true DSLR beater?
Sony’s SLT-A77 has to be one of the most hotly-anticipated cameras of recent years. Since the Alpha A700 was pulled from production there’s been something of a gap in the Alpha lineup – a gap that the A77 looks to fill. But with its SLT (Single Lens Translucent) construction, it’s not a straight DSLR replacement. So, is this forward-thinking, DSLR-beating material at its best?

October 27, 2011
Sony SLT-A77 In-depth Review
Spec-wise the A77 is impressive: it features a new 24MP APS-C CMOS sensor, 12fps full-resolution shooting and the highest resolution EVF we've ever encountered (a 2.4M dot OLED finder). It also uses a new 19-point AF sensor, 11 points of which are cross-type (sensitive to detail in both the vertical and horizontal axis). Clever use of the main sensor's live view allows the A77 to track objects as they move across the frame, enabling the camera to have a better understanding of which AF point it should be using at any given time.
October, 2011
PhotoClubAlpha The Sony Alpha 77 – tomorrow today
It must be two years ago, at least, that an Australian sports photographer confided he had seen a Sony prototype which would blow away everything – an Alpha which could shoot at incredible frame rates (he mentioned 15fps) and follow focus. It may have been something unlike the Alpha 77, which does achieve 12fps maximum and tracks focus in any appropriate exposure mode at 8fps. Or it may have been an early experiment. Whatever it was, it’s here now or coming tomorrow.
October 17, 2011
Sony’s A77 for video? – So close yet so far
Last week I had a very brief hands on with Sony’s new A77 SLT camera and the new 16-50mm f2.8 lens. I was at the Dali international photo festival in southern china and one of the other photographer’s there had a PAL model A77 on loan from Sony. This much anticipated camera has some significant new features that warrant discussion.
This is not a full review – simply some brief observations about how the camera performs in video mode.

October 5, 2011
Hands On: Sony A77
The other day, I finally got my hands on the extremely coveted Sony A77 camera. Though the reviews have already started to come out, I’m still waiting for my units to give them a full run through. However, this camera seemed extremely impressive during the brief time I spent with it.
September 28, 2011
Sony Alpha SLT- A77 Hands-on Review
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Al1BI82nV9A
September 24, 2011
Sony Alpha SLT-A77
Sony's SLT-A77 is the flagship model in the company's range of interchangeable-lens cameras featuring Translucent (pellicle) Mirror Technology. Positioned above last year's SLT-A55, it boasts a 24.3-megapixel APS-C-sized sensor new BIONZ image processor that enables it to record burst of shots at 12 frames/second. A new XGA OLED Tru-Finder provides superior resolution, contrast and responsiveness to the EVF on the A55 and an articulated LCD monitor makes it easy to frame a shot from any angle.
September, 2011
Camera Test: Sony's A77 Is The New King of APS-C DSLRs
When we named Sony's Alpha 55 Camera of the Year last year, we didn't expect that the company would come along with a model like the new Alpha 77. In addition to the benefits we loved in the A55, such as full-time phase-detection autofocus even when recording video, Sony has added a slew of features for this flagship fixed-mirror DSLR. With all of this new technology, we were eager to get it into the Popular Photography Test Lab. Now that we have, we can tell you that the results should make Canon and Nikon worry.
September 22, 2011
Review – Sony Alpha A77 SLT Digital Camera with Sony DT 16-50mm f/2.8 SSM Hands-On Review
The new Sony Alpha A77 SLT is the third camera released by Sony using this translucent mirror system. I blogged about this technology in the past when the Sony Alpha A33 and A55 were announced, so you can read about the tech explanation there.
Enough of my side comments, here’s Mike’s review on the Sony Alpha A77 (note that some text and images may be edited or rearranged for readability purposes.

September 20, 2011
Review: Sony Alpha A77
We have a confession to make, this camera came into our hands almost right after it was announced. So why the delay in getting the review out? Firstly it came with firmware that was not final. Two days later, just moments after updating to firmware version 1.00, we got a message that there was another update and we have only been able to get that update done in the last few days. So, without further delay, let us dive into the Sony Alpha A77.
September 15, 2011
Sony Alpha SLT-A77 First Look
This week DCR is in San Diego testing out Sony's new Alpha, NEX and - seriously - binocular releases. Today we're coming at you with a first look at the SLT-A77, the newest flagship translucent mirror camera. In the interest of preserving everyone's sanity, we've downsized these samples to a web-friendlier format from their original 24 megapixels. Other than that the sample images below haven't undergone any post-processing.
September 14, 2011
FIRST LOOK: Sony Alpha SLT-A77
Sony's SLT-A77 is the flagship model in the company's range of interchangeable-lens cameras featuring Translucent (pellicle) Mirror Technology. Positioned above last year's SLT-A55, it boasts a 24.3-megapixel APS-C-sized sensor new BIONZ image processor that enables it to record burst of shots at 12 frames/second. A new XGA OLED Tru-Finder provides superior resolution, contrast and responsiveness to the EVF on the A55 and an articulated LCD monitor makes it easy to frame a shot from any angle.
September, 2011
Sony Alpha A77 vs A65 SLT Hands On Preview
Sony Alpha A77 vs A65 SLT Hands On Preview - We take a look at the new Sony Apha A77 and A65 and see what the differences are between the two new top of the range SLT translucent mirror cameras from Sony.
September 2, 2011
Sony SLT A77 – A First Impressions Review
It's impossible to know what the future will bring. But, it's likely that the Sony A77 will be regarded as one of the most fascinating new camera introductions of 2011. The camera was announced on 24 August, and won't be released until early October. Thanks to Sony Canada I had an opportunity in early August to spend four days field testing a pre-production camera, along with the new 16-50mm f/2.8 lens.
August 24 2011
First Look: Sony Alpha A77 camera looks like a DSLR
At first glance, and probably even after several subsequent glances, you might mistake the just-announced Sony Alpha SLT-A77 for a DSLR.
Its size, $2000 kit price, and weather-sealed magnesium alloy body are all well in line with what you'd expect from a high-end consumer DSLR. Its 24.3-megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor, A-mount for interchangeable DSLR lenses, and manual control scheme are usually found only on DSLRs. And perhaps most important, it just looks like a DSLR.

August 25, 2011
Sony Alpha SLT-A77
Making a major leap in the camera market, the Sony A77 reaches into pro territory, able to capture 12 frames per second with a 24.3-megapixel camera that feels great and handles like your typical enthusiast digital SLR. Its optional 16-50mm kit lens also delivers excellent quality for the money.
August 24, 2011
Sony Alpha SLT-A77 preview
The Alpha A77 is Sony's flagship SLT camera, boasting a new 24.3 Megapixel sensor, 12fps continuous shooting, Full HD 1080p video and composition with either a 3in articulated screen or a high resolution OLED electronic viewfinder.
August, 2011

Support Photo-Video-Online: Buy the Sony SLT-A77 from one of our affiliate partners:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: