News about Photo & Video

Reviews: Canon PowerShot G1 X

by PhotoVideoOnline on 05/15/2012

Canon PowerShot G1 X

© Canon

  • Large 14.3 MP CMOS, DIGIC 5, HS System
  • Compact 4x zoom; Intelligent IS
  • 7.5 cm (3.0”) vari-angle LCD; OVF
  • Full Manual, RAW, DPP
  • Full HD, HDMI
  • High-speed Burst HQ
  • Smart Auto
  • Extensive accessories
  • HDR mode and ND filter
  • Optional 40m waterproof case

Canon PowerShot G1 X Review
Canon tests the waters with its first large-sensor alternative to an SLR, and the industry's first compact, large-sensor camera to offer a zoom lens. If you're looking for a second camera, or you're the type who'd never take the kit lens off your SLR or mirrorless camera, the G1 X could be made for you.
Mai 15, 2012
camera review: Canon G1 X
I’ve had a loaner Canon G1 X for the past few weeks, to see how I like it. What interested me most about the G1X is that the sensor size is just smaller than the Canon’s APS-C sensor. The larger sensor promises better image quality.
But a camera is quite often more than the sum of the parts – it should have a feel that appeals to the photographer.

April 19, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1 X Video Review
I was really excited about the14-megapixel Canon PowerShot G1 X when Canon announced it. The big, new 1.5-inch sensor puts it up against compact system (mirrorless) cameras as far as image quality goes and really puts it in a class of its own compared to other compact digital cameras. I got Canon to send me a G1 X for a few weeks and shot all kinds of stuff with it – mountain biking, snowshoeing, landscapes, etc.; and the sensor is really impressive, absolutely producing digital SLR image quality. The G1 X isn’t perfect, though. Ultimately, I ended up with mixed feelings about it, in spite of the excellent image quality. For more details, check out my hands-on video review and the sample photos.
April 17, 2012
Canon Powershot G1X Review
Canon Powershot G1X Review- Every once in a while a camera will come my way that blows my ship right out of the water. I'm glad its a rare occurrence because if it weren't I couldn't make that statement with the same enthusiasm or honesty. So, is the Canon G1X one of those rare cameras? First, know that I am a huge G12 fan- up to today's date it has remained my favorite all round serious compact camera.
April, 2012
Canon G1 X
The Canon G1 X is the biggest compact digital camera ever from Canon. It's bigger because it uses the largest sensor ever crammed into a compact digital camera by Canon, a healthy 14 x 18.7mm (1.85x crop factor) CMOS chip.
April, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1X Review
Fresh out of my typewriter is the in-depth Canon PowerShot G1X review. The PowerShot G1X is a prosumer camera with a larger-than-average image sensor, 4X optical zoom, a flexible 3 inch LCD, full manual controls and Full HD movie mode. Visit the Canon PowerShot G1X photo gallery to view sample pictures taken using the camera.
March 21, 2012
Using the Canon G1X in the Real World vs the Fujifilm X10 (Video)
My recent article entitled Using the Canon G1X in the Real World vs the Fujifilm X10 was a HUGE hit because people don’t want to see staged shots taken by pros with a team of assistants. Instead, they want to see REAL WORLD shots like they can expect to find when they use these products. In this installment I’ll do the same with video to show you what you can really expect to get if you use these two video cameras in the real world.
March 19, 2012
Canon Powershot G1X Review
My first glimpse of this unit was just prior to Christmas. Obviously Canon was mighty proud of it and, despite the Yuletide pressures, was keen to show it off, guarded by a raft of non-disclosure tie-ups.
For some years now the G series has been the company’s compact camera tour de force, beginning with the G1 in the year 2000 and running all the way to the G12 in 2010.

March, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1 X Review
The Canon PowerShot G1 X may look like the company's existing G-series compacts, but is a very different prospect. It's a large sensor camera with a flexible 28-112mm-equivalent, 4x zoom lens and extensive manual controls. The company says it sees it as a camera for photographers who already have a high end DSLR such as a 5D Mark II/III or 7D, but at a price of $799, we think it'll appeal much more widely than that. After repeated waves of cameras aimed at point-and-shoot upgraders, it's heartening to see a camera really living up to the billing of a 'serious compact.'
March, 2012
Canon G1 X Field Report - The Art of the Compromise
The old saying goes... You can't fight city hall. This is true as well for the laws of physics as they apply to camera design. As photographers we all want small size and light weight, but want this to be combined with high image quality, long zoom range and wide apertures. Why shouldn't we? But, the art of the compromise is needed when companies actually sit down to design new cameras, because many of these requirements are mutually exclusive.
With the new Canon G1X, which just started shipping in early March, 2012, Canon has provided us with their latest interpretation of the serious photographer's pocket camera. Let's see how well they succeeded.

March, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1 X review
The Canon PowerShot G1 X is a compact camera with a large sensor, 4x zoom, optical viewfinder and articulated screen packed into a metal body. Announced in January 2012, the G1 X joins the PowerShot G series, but rather than replacing the existing G12, it's positioned as a new premium model - because while the body is immediately identifiable as a member of the G-series, the sensor inside is closer in size to what you'd find in a DSLR or CSC.
March, 2012
Canon G1 X review - A premium compact camera bursting with high-end features, the Canon G1X is here
The new Canon PowerShot G1 X - commonly shortened to Canon G1 X, or even Canon G1X - occupies the top spot in Canon's prestigious G-series compact camera range, offering a truly impressive array of high-end features.
Launched at CES earlier this year, the new digital camera is aimed at advanced photographers in search of a high-quality, take-anywhere primary camera and/or backup for their DSLR.

February 24, 2012
Tested: Canon G1 X Advanced Compact
Canon’s G-series has long been a go-to model for pros and enthusiasts looking for a camera to carry when they’re not using a DSLR. But these days, interchangeable-lens compacts have captured the imagination of many such shooters.
In response, Canon has served up the 14.3MP PowerShot G1 X ($800, street)—a fixed-lens camera with a large 1.5-inch CMOS sensor. At 18.7x14mm, the G1 X’s sensor is larger than the one found in Micro Four Thirds ILCs, but smaller than the APS-C-sized sensors used in Samsung’s NX and Sony’s NEX cameras.

February 21, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1 X review
Canon's G1 X boasts a beefy 14-megapixel resolution and a tank-load of ambition. Its mandate, no less, is to deliver the image quality and control of a DSLR inside the discreet body of a compact, aiming to attract serious photographers who want to travel light or supplement their main kit. That's why the G1 X houses a substantial 1.5-inch CMOS sensor, stretching to around 80 percent of the size of APS-C, along with an anti-minimalist array of dials, knobs and buttons to provide quick access to manual settings. It also explains why the G1 X is 30 percent heavier than both its evolutionary ancestor and some of its competitors, and why its price tag is equally hefty: $800, which is SLR-like in all the wrong ways. We've had this shooter long enough to gather our thoughts, but as to whether it deserves a smile or a snarl, you'll have to read on to find out.
February 13, 2012
Canon G1 X Hands-On
The Canon G1 X was a bit of a surprise from the only major camera manufacturer without a mirrorless interchangeable lens system. While it doesn’t offer interchangeable lenses, the G1 X features an image sensor that’s bigger than the Nikon 1 and Micro Four Thirds (Panasonic and Olympus) cameras. I has some time with a pre-production model at CES 2012. Check out my initial hands-on impressions below.
January 17, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1 X samples gallery
We've spent a couple of days shooting with a pre-production Canon PowerShot G1 X. We've prepared a 30 image gallery, shot in a range of lighting conditions and using a variety of focal lengths, ISO settings and apertures, in addition to the studio examples we've already posted. The G1 X may look like an existing G-series compact but fits a near DSLR-sized sensor into its slightly brick-like body. So what does this mean for image quality and does its f/5.8 maximum aperture at the long end of the zoom rob it of its low-light potential?
January 16, 2012
FIRST LOOK: Canon PowerShot G1X
Canon is a late-comer to the large-sensor compact camera category and its first offering, the 14.3-megapixel G1X, isn't an interchangeable-lens camera. The naming of this camera is unfortunate because of its similarity to Panasonic's recently-released DMC-GX1, although the G1X is totally different. Instead of releasing a mirrorless interchangeable-lens system, Canon has extended an existing - and very successful - camera design.
January, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1X first look
Canon's latest advanced compact has a sensor six times the size of the nearest model in the PowerShot range and with a 4x optical, 28-112mm lens and equal or better low light performance, is this the perfect portable snapper? We go hands-on to find out. Narrowly missing out on a nomination for the TrustedReviews Awards 2011 powered by Duracell, could the Canon PowerShot G1X make the shortlist for next year's awards?
January 12, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1 X
Canon recently unveiled their PowerShot G1 X, the new flagship of the PowerShot lineup. This camera will not be a replacement for the G12, the G1 X will kick of an entirely new branch of PowerShots, but the inspiration is obvious at first glance. The G1 X looks and feels like an update to the G12, in both performance and style. But the biggest difference here is the new 1.5-inch sensor, an absolute giant for this class of camera.
January 10, 2012
Canon Powershot G1 X Hands-On Preview
The Canon Powershot G1 X features a 14.3 megapixel APS-C sized sensor, full manual controls, a wide angle 4x optical zoom lens with optical image stabilisation, optical viewfinder and will be available from February for £699 including VAT.
Joshua Waller takes a closer look at the new Canon Powershot G1 X with large CMOS sensor.

January 10, 2012
Canon PowerShot G1X
Having received one of the early production units of Canon's 14.3-megapixel PowerShot G1X we're now able to produce a full review of this exciting new camera, which is due for release in March. The G1X slots into the flagship position in Canon's G series without replacing the PowerShot G12 (which will remain on sale for the foreseeable future).
January, 2012

Support Photo-Video-Online: Buy the Canon PowerShot G1 X from one of our affiliate partners:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: