News about Photo & Video

Reviews: Canon EOS 5D Mark III

by PhotoVideoOnline on 04/21/2012

Canon EOS 5D Mark III with EF 24-105mm

© Canon

  • 22.3 megapixel full-frame sensor
  • 61-point AF
  • 6 fps continuous shooting
  • ISO 100–25,600 sensitivity, expandable to ISO 102,400
  • Full-HD video with manual control
  • 14-bit DIGIC 5+ processor
  • Weather sealing
  • 8.11cm (3.2-inch) 1,040,000-dot screen
  • HDR mode

Canon EOS 5D Mark III Review
Here’s the most requested review of 2012 thus far: my in-depth review of the Canon EOS 5D Mark III professional full-frame digital SLR. The camera is a full-frame digital SLR with a 22 megapixel CMOS image sensor, full manual controls, dual memory card slots, extremely capable Full HD movie mode and new 61 point autofocus system trickled down from the flagship Canon EOS 1D X camera.
April 21, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III review
The Canon 5D Mark III is a professional-grade full-frame DSLR that builds on the strengths of previous models in the range to deliver a hugely impressive camera that is sure to appeal to video enthusiasts as much as stills shooters. With the recent arrival of the Nikon D800, Canon needed a bit of a showstopper model – with the 5D Mark III, the company has delivered one.
April 20, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III vs. Nikon D800 Part 2 with Mike Drew

April 13, 2012
5D III strip tease: Is beauty more than skin deep?
The best worst thing happened today: a nearly new Canon 5D Mk III came back from rental with a loose screw rattling around inside. We had to decide if it went back to Canon or if we should go looking for the screw ourselves. That’s a tough decision. So we thought about it for a while.
April 13, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Digital SLR Camera Review
The Canon EOS 5D Mark III announcement was perhaps the most anticipated camera announcement in history.
The original Canon EOS 5D DSLR was the first affordable full frame DSLR. It was a highly regarded and very successful model. The Canon EOS 5D Mark II, with its incredible 21.1 MP full frame sensor, launched to instant success. It continues to be a great value and sells very well even as I create the Canon EOS 5D Mark III review.

April 13, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III review
Canon’s EOS 5D Mark III has a lot to live up to. For a start, the original Canon EOS 5D was the first DSLR to really bring full-frame digital photography within the reach of enthusiast photographers. Then came its replacement, the Canon EOS 5D Mark II, which kick-started the current trend for shooting video on a DSLR.
April 12, 2012
7 Videos Shot on the Canon 5D Mk III in New York
While our Canon 5D Mk III review is in the works, I’ve been hunting around looking for more video footage from the HDSLR. As the curator and creator of Vimeo’s NYC HD Video channel, I often run into lots of footage filmed in my very own home: New York City. Lots of creatives here have the new camera, and so I went on a search around Vimeo looking for videos already shot and uploaded to the community using the Canon 5D Mk III. Here’s what I’ve found:
April 11, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Review
Announced just over 3 years since its popular predecessor, the long-awaited and much-rumoured Canon EOS 5D Mark III digital SLR camera has finally arrived. The EOS 5D Mk II was something of a break-through camera for Canon, bringing 35mm full-frame, 1080p HD video recording to a wider audience. Now the 5D Mark III is here, and although it looks very similar from the outside, there have been some major improvements on the inside.
April 11, 2012
Joe Marine Canon 5D Mark III & Nikon D800 ISO Range Test

April 5, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III silent shooting mode vs Sleeping baby
Rarely before has a camera provoked such speculation, soul-searching and anticipation as the Canon 5D Mark III. Its predecessor set the bar for all new cameras and created a generation of filmmakers.
One of the signature features of the new Canon 5D Mark III has been its silent shooting mode, which quiets the sound of the shutter down to a whisper to allow you to work without drawing attention to yourself. When the review sample came in, we thought we’d put this feature to the ultimate test. But how?

April 5, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III: Product Reviews: Adorama Photography TV

April 4, 2012
First Impressions – Canon EOS 5D Mk III
I admit that when the Canon EOS 5D Mark III was announced, I figured – for the price difference – one would be better off getting the older Mark II. On paper, sure there are some differences, but I doubt it would justify upgrading if you already have a Mark II. Then, last week, during a brief stop at Canon’s offices, I was given the Mark III to play with for a few minutes. I quickly realized that my thinking could be very wrong.
April 4, 2012
Canon 5D MK III vs Nikon D800 with Nathan Elson

April 3, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III Initial Thoughts
I received my Canon 5D Mark III a week ago and have been putting it through it’s paces. As soon as I opened it up and put the battery in, I was snapping pictures. Before I get to the technical side of things, I must say The Canon 5D Mark III is the most comfortable camera I have ever held! It feels really good in the hands. There’s an indentation on the camera body’s right hand side where my thumb fits oh so perfectly. So it’s safe to say if you wanted to buy a camera based on “in the hand” feel alone, this would be your camera.
April 3, 2012
Fenchel & Janisch Canon 5D Mark III Testvideos

More Testvideos
April 1, 2012
Video shootout: Nikon D800 vs. Canon 5D mkIII
Before the advent of the Nikon D800 and D4 there was no choice if you wanted a full frame DSLR shooting 1080P video – it had to be a Canon. This past week, I and several other members of the photo and video press and bloggers have been guests of Nikon Europe in New York on the “48 hour challenge”: getting our hands on production models of the D800 and being allowed to shoot what we wanted.
April 1, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III vs 5D Mark II noise (JPEG) (RAW results to follow)
To compare noise levels under real-life conditions I shot this scene with the Canon EOS 5D Mark III and its predecessor, the EOS 5D Mark II within a few moments of each other using their best quality JPEG settings and at each of their ISO sensitivity settings.
April, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III review
The headline specifications are a new 22.3 Megapixel full-frame sensor with 100-25600 ISO sensitivity (expandable to 102,400 ISO), 1080p video at 24, 25 or 30fps and 720p at 50 or 60fps, a 61-point AF system (with 41 cross-type sensors), 6fps continuous shooting, a viewfinder with 100% coverage, 3.2in screen with 1040k resolution, 63-zone iCFL metering, three, five or seven frame bracketing, a new three-frame HDR mode, microphone and headphone jacks and twin memory card slots, one for Compact Flash, the other for SD; the control layout has also been adjusted and the build slightly improved. So while the resolution and video specs remain similar to its predecessor, the continuous shooting speed, AF system, viewfinder, screen and build are all improved, and again there's the bonus of twin card slots.
April, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III - FULL REVIEW
After publishing a detailed First Look at the new EOS 5D Mark III at the beginning of March, we eagerly awaited the chance to review a production unit. This was supplied at the beginning of April, allowing us to carry out our standard suite of technical and user tests. This report has been prepared to complement the initial review, adding comments about our experiences using the new camera plus the results of our standard tests. Links have been provided to enable readers to jump between the two reports.
April, 2012
A Nikon user’s review of the Canon 5D Mark III
I am not a brand fanatic. I have used Fuji cameras as well as the 5Ds Mark I and II at weddings, loved point-and-shoots from Canon and Panasonic, and film cameras from a huge array of companies. The only camera I get truly emotional about is my first SLR, my father’s Minolta SR-T 101b. But you’ve gotta use something, and I’ve been using Nikon dSLRs for more than 12 years, since the days of the Nikon D1. I stuck through even through the dark times of noisy ISO 800, and have been loving the Nikon system for weddings more and more since the advent of the Nikon D3, and even more with the expansion of fast primes like the 24mm f/1.4 and the 35mm f/1.4.
So why am I so excited about the Canon 5D Mark III?

March 29, 2012
Images and Impressions of Canon’s 5D Mark 3 HDR Feature: and Easy GPS in Lightroom 4
I was getting a kick out of using the new HDR feature on my brand-new Canon 5D Mark III camera. I was kind of like a kid in a candy store framing up each image, pressing the shutter release, waiting my 10 seconds, and seeing these very cool HDR results.
I thought today I'd share a few of those images with you. I also thought I would give you my quick impressions of the new HDR features on the new Canon 5D Mark 3.

March 28, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III Hands-on Review

March 27, 2012
Podcast 328 : Canon EOS 5D Mark III Digital SLR Review
Last week I picked up my Canon EOS 5D Mark III Digital SLR camera on the day of the launch, and I took some lenses, a fully charged battery and a CF card with me to Shinjuku, so that I could start using the camera right away. A Starbucks lunch with a table gave me enough time and a place to set up the camera and take a quick run through the menus, making sure I was shooting RAW etc, and I was ready to go.
March 27, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
The good: Excellent image and video quality; superb high-ISO performance; solid build with an ergonomic handgrip; dedicated video button.
The bad: Magnifying preview images require both hands; slightly pricier than closest competitor, the Nikon D800.
The bottom line: Featuring a faster customizable autofocus system as well as superior low-light performance in stills and videos, the 5D Mark III shows that Canon can make a proven formula even better.

March 27, 2012
Parents Rejoice – No More Dark, Blurry and Out of Focus Pictures! (Canon 5D Mark III Real World Shots)
Ask nearly any parent how they managed to get their DSLR approved by the significant other, and the answer is nearly always that they claimed they needed it to get better shots of the kids. That argument is valid too as kids are the toughest subject to shoot. Dark, blurry, and out of focus shots are the norm, so I tell parents that if you photograph kids you are a sports photographer.
March 26, 2012
Canon 5D MK III Mini Review
Sorry this is NOT an in-depth review. I spent more time working on it than I planned but I wanted to be sure of my first impressions. So it is what it is. Hopefully some of you will find enough information here to make your own decisions. Also note that all the images you see here are JPEGS with minimal processing, virtually straight out of the camera, through 15 seconds of tweaks in Aperture 3.2 and then converted for use in this post. I had no way to convert the RAW files based on the computer and software I had with me in Alaska so I’ll update later on the RAW files.
March 26, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Hands-on Preview
Up until now, the 5D series has been a dynasty of slightly unlikely revolutionaries. The original EOS 5D of 2005 was the first 'affordable' full frame SLR, and the camera that cemented the 24x36mm sensor as the format of choice for many professional applications at a time when many were questioning its continued relevance. The 5D Mark II was the first SLR capable of recording full HD video, a feature that revolutionized the market in a fashion that no one could possibly have envisaged at the time - least of all Canon. On the face of it, though, the latest model offers little that looks likely to make the same impact.
March, 2012
Ronald Biallas Canon 5D Mark III Compare Test with Canon 5D Mark II

March 26, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Review: The Best DSLR for Shooting Video
In creating the 5D Mark III, Canon listened to all of the critiques and complaints about the Mark II, refining the hardware, functionality, and capabilities of its insanely popular shooter. It may be more update than revolution, but damn: This camera is sweet.
March 23, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III review
The 5D Mark III is the long awaited 4 years in the making successor to the one that really started it all. Have Canon managed to keep the DSLR video flame alive?
March 22, 2012
Canon EOS 5D Mark III field review
Shoot in the dark. That's essentially what you can do with the Canon 5D Mark III -- with a top sensitivity of ISO 102,400, what was once unfathomable could soon become an acceptable standard. While point-and-shoot manufacturers are adding WiFi and GPS, and tweaking algorithms in an effort to boost sensitivity beyond the 6400 mark, Canon and Nikon are making clear cases for a DSLR upgrade, by drastically improving image quality. The 5D Mark II had an excellent three-year run, but with its 22.3-megapixel sensor, 1.04M-dot 3.2-inch LCD, improved autofocus and high-performance video capabilities, Canon's latest full-frame DSLR is an entirely different beast, and a very compelling successor.
March 22, 2012
Canon 5D Mark III Unboxing & First Report and the truth about the AF performance
My Canon 5D Mark III has arrived from Adorama and will be reviewed over the next few days. Come back frequently for updates as I offer my initial impressions. Currently I’m super impressed with the build quality (feels more like a pro camera) and the controls are excellent. I’m also pleased that the cryptic custom function menus have been expanded out to be more easy to follow. Finally I’m thrilled to see some features from the 1D X have made it to this body – this thing rocks!
March 21, 2012
HDRI Blog 5D Mark III multiple exposure mode
The 5D Mark III multiple exposure mode explained
I’ve already been hammered by the question of whether or not the final file from the multiple exposure mode is a JPEG or other. I’m thrilled to report that the final composite is a Canon RAW file!!!

March 15, 2012
FIRST LOOK: Canon EOS 5D Mark III
When the Canon EOS 5D Mark II was announced in September 2008, just ahead of that year's Photokina trade show, it immediately attracted a flurry of attention for its 21.1-megapixel sensor and Full HD video capability. Its successor, the 22.3-megapixel EOS 5D Mark III, provides some incremental improvements on its predecessor's specifications for still photographers. But for video shooters, it's a great leap forward, as outlined below.
March, 2012
Brent Stirton on the EOS 5D Mark III
Canon Ambassador Brent Stirton (Reportage by Getty Images) got the chance to try out the new Canon EOS 5D Mark III DSLR camera during a few days shooting on location in France. He shot the all-action sport of ‘Radball’ and also documented a day in the life of French oyster fishermen. CPN spoke to the award-winning photojournalist about his first impressions of working with Canon’s new 22.3 Megapixel DSLR.

Support Photo-Video-Online: Buy the Canon EOS 5D Mark III from one of our affiliate partners:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: