News about Photo & Video

Reviews: Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

by PhotoVideoOnline on 09/05/2011

Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

© Canon

  • Circular or full frame Fisheye zoom lens
  • Part of Canon’s acclaimed L series
  • Durable and rugged design
  • Quiet and fast autofocus
  • Full-time manual focusing
  • Easier lens cleaning

Canon EF 8-15mm Fisheye review
The Canon EF 8-15mm Fisheye zoom is a unique lens and one for which anticipation has been steadily building since its original announcement back in August 2010. Now one year on, the lens has finally hit the stores and I've had a chance to see what all the fuss is about in my review.
September, 2011
Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye Lens Hands-On Review
The EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye lens is a highly-anticipated and unique lens in Canon’s lineup. I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks now and will give a hands-on “user report” review of it below.
First off, I’ve used the 8-15mm almost exclusively with my 5D Mark II, so most of my comments are directed toward its application on a full frame camera. I used it briefly with the 7D just to get a feel for the difference, which I’ve noted below.

August 24, 2011
Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye First Impressions
Ever since Canon announced the EF 8-15mm f/4L fisheye lens back in September 2010 I have been impatiently waiting for it. I knew that, at least in theory, it was going to be awesome and after having it for a few days now, I can say that it’ll blow you away. Whoever came up with the idea for this lens has to be a very brilliant designer. I know it may sound like I’m biased, but I’ve got plenty of negative posts here on my blog about Canon. The most famous are my posts on the EOS 5D Mark II autofocus issues. But with this lens, if I want to be honest, I have no choice but to praise Canon.
August 22, 2011
Canon EF 8-15mm f/4 L USM Fisheye Lens Review
Every so often, a product comes along that just blows you away - one that completely makes you rethink your photography. The Canon EF 8-15mm f/4 L USM Fisheye Lens is, without a doubt, one of the most radical lenses Canon has introduced - and it is a game changer for the photographer.
August 16, 2011
Mini-Review: Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L USM Fisheye Ultra-Wide Zoom Lens
I’ve been lusting for this lens since I first got my hands on it in September of 2010, so when I found on Monday I could get one in this article (still available) I was all over it. Mine arrived from B&H today so despite bad weather and not much time sunlight after work, I got out and played with it a bit.
Oh when you get a shot with this lens like the one above you just think – wow, I’m really going to love this lens! It definitely opens up the creative door and clears off the cob webs. I just love this shot of what normally would be a very boring photo.

August 6, 2011
Canon 8-15 F4 L USM Fisheye Review
The Canon EF 8-15 F4 L fisheye lens is one highly anticipated piece of glass ! First announced back in Autum 2010 this is not a replacement of any existing lens, but an all new design with unique potential. Canon originally started with the 15mm f2.8 fisheye which was designed before the digital days. This lens provided a full 180 degree field of view on a full frame camera but users of 1.6 or 1.3 crop cameras were left with slightly less fishy look to their images. On the Nikon side of things, Nikkor released a beautiful 10.5mm fisheye for their crop cameras but Canon never followed suit. Sigma built a Canon mount 10mm fisheye and a few people got by with a Tokina 10-17 which did give you a wide view on a 1.3 crop camera but neither of these lenses were hugely high quality. I often use fisheye lenses in my action sports photography work but the problem is I shoot with a full frame Canon 5dMKII and a 1.3 crop Canon 1dMKIV. I’ve always made do with a 15mm f2.8 fisheye which is great on my 5d with it’s full frame sensor but always left me wanting when used on the cropped 1d. Well with this new Canon 8-15 they have solved my problem and designed a lens that can achieve a full 180mm field of view on any of their digital cameras, a simply fantastic idea.
August 6, 2011
Canon EF 8-15mm f/4 L USM fisheye Hands-on Review
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IabjY5AmWOk
August 2, 2011

Support Photo-Video-Online: Buy the Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM from one of our affiliate partners:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: